SOUTHWEST BOOK DESIGN COMPETITION

Victoria Rabinowe’s book, “I Had the Craziest Dream Last Night” has been selected as a finalist in the Southwest Book Design & Production Award competition. Sean Wells, Book Designer will join Victoria at the awards ceremony.

I wanted to write my book on creative methods for dreamwork in a way that would introduce a new kind of readership for the category of dreams – an introduction that would enchant the curious and encourage the artist in each of us without psychoanalyzing the nature of dreams.I also wanted to make the book beautiful with chapter headings using my pen and ink drawings.
On the very day that I realized I didn’t have the skills to design a book, Sean Wells, my “little sister” came to my rescue. As my computer guru and web designer, she easily took on the project. Having followed my artwork for over 24 years as my “little sister” (from the Big Brother, Big Sister program), she had a deep sensitivity for my style. Her vision for this book expanded the integration of imagery with the text. Her imaginative use of fonts interspersed with the drawings created an entirely new approach for the book. She mixed and matched twenty-five years of my illustrations into one coherent signature look.

Leave a Reply

